top of page

Week 2 Read-a-Rama DFW

Apr 5

2 min read

0

4

(March 31st-April 7th)

This Monday I met with Dr. Martin to review my questions and suggestions for revamping the Read-a-Rama trauma-informed care curriculum. Below I have included the suggestions I presented to her:

  • Eliminate unnecessary long quotes and text on the screen

  • Make presentation more personable i.e. less reading straight off the slide, more engagement and speaking to the audience, more emotion in tone and language, less academic and clinical language

  • Include example and discussion of trauma and ACE's (Adverse Childhood Experiences) related to current 2024 problems affecting children (long term effects of Covid-19 pandemic, housing crisis, wars, etc)

  • Make the presentation more generalized (not just about Compass Housing campers)

  • Eliminate unnecessary description of TIC theory

  • Include more examples of specific scenarios counselors or volunteers may encounter

  • Include brainstorming activities including how SAMHA TIC principles can be applied in the RaR setting

  • Align design with RaR website and materials (font, color, icons)


This training will need to be completed by the end of the quarter and will be first implemented at a June 15th training. We also setup a weekly Monday meeting to discuss my progress throughout the quarter.


Midweek I communicated with the previous DFW student, Jessamyn, on her design tools and processes for creating the 2023 RaR impact report. I will be utilizing similar design components as her project in order to align design across RaR materials.


I also finalized my learning outcomes for the DFW, which you can view here.


My next steps for completing this training are:

  1. Create a document for to-do's on the RaR drive.

  2. Research other TIC trainings and curriculums for reference.

  3. Create a document of with slide names and content. Start with a layout similar to the current modules, and then add edits throughout.

  4. Create the slides in Canva once I have Jessamyn's design guidelines.

Apr 5

2 min read

0

4

bottom of page