top of page

Week 4 Read-a-Rama DFW

Apr 23

2 min read

0

7

April 15th-21st

This past week I focused on creating the new modules for the TIC curriculum. I am drawing from the 2022 RaR TIC modules, my own research on Trauma experienced by library staff, and examples TIC curriculum such as those by WebJunction, American Camp Association, Child Trauma Academy, and SAMHSA.

After considering the flow of the presentation and the structure of other trainings, I have reformatted the training into the following 5 modules:

  1. Introduction and What is Trauma

  2. What is Trauma-Informed Care

  3. Cultural Humility

  4. Secondary Trauma and Staff Supports

  5. RaR TIC: A Springboard for Resiliency

These modules have yet to be approved by Dr. Martin, and I am excited to hear her thoughts on this new flow. The biggest change is in the order of topics (with some being consolidated from the old training), and a module all about TIC on the staff side. I firmly believed that helping professions and settings need to place proper emphasis on TIC for staff, just as they do for the communities they serve.

I also gathered feedback from past RaR TIC trainings, and found that one area people would like to build on is increasing discussion time. Thus, I am working to make sure there is much less content and reading from slides so that we can transfer that time to discussion.

Another component that Dr. Martin and I are excited to add is more discussion on how books can be a tool in TIC, as a gateway for compassion and understanding as well as a way to discuss tough topics with campers. I will be including reading suggestions on various trauma categories such as family dynamics, emotions, etc.

Serendipitously, my required Violence Prevention training for being a UW RA/GA was this past week, and I was really inspired by the moderator's approach to conducting training on such an intense topic. During my undergraduate program, I was also conducted Consent workshops and Violence Prevention trainings, and it was intersting to revisit this subject 5 years later and see how the language and techniques have evolved. Similarly, I am looking to revamp the RaR 2022 curriculum to be up to date with current recommendations in the field. This week I am attending two workshops on trauma in children put on by the UW Center for Child & Family Well-Being: "Addressing Post-Pandemic Trauma in Youth: How Mindfulness Practices Support Positive Mental Health Outcomes in Challenging Times" and "From Trauma to Transformation: How Mindfulness Heals Communities." I am really excited to dive into these topics and see what their recommendations are for this ever evolving subject!

Apr 23

2 min read

0

7

bottom of page